All rigged up and ready to go

So I thought I’d give my new favourite program a whirl, and see how well it works for rigging up a puppet character.

Turns out, pretty damn well. And it’s super easy.

(Well what I did was super easy. I wasn’t going for any fancy deforming stuff like DUIK in After Effects can do, I just thought I’d try my hand at a nice little cutout person)

chibi base done

So my original drawing, all dolled up and ready to go. I swear this one’s becoming my mascot. I must miss having pink hair or something.

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.08.49 PM

Layer separation in Photoshop, ready for importing into ToonBoom

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.10.16 PM

And a rather terrifying separated up image of what’s going on with all those layers

I used this tutorial to get started, and it was incredibly helpful.

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.47.01 PMScreen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.50.28 PM (2)

Or it was at least, after I realised that it was using an older version of the program and some of the tools mentioned didn’t exist any more. Everything is contained in one Peg layer in the timeline, all nested under each other in accordance with how they’re linked (ie, hand to arm, arm to upper arm, arm to torso etc) and are named so that anyone else can animate with it.

Screen Shot 2015-12-28 at 2.54.54 PM

Okay so she’s not perfect by any means, but the breaks are a photoshop problem, not a rigging problem and I’m enamoured with how easy it was to go from a static picture to a moveable puppet. Next time I’m going to use this as well as a few others to work out a better way to overlap the limbs so they don’t look like that, but they don’t have gaps when they move

Leave a Reply

